It was all a dream

When people tell you their travels have finished and they’re headed back to real life, what does it mean? I kind of understand it now. I’m heading back tomorrow and everyone I met and everything I did seem like it didn’t happen. But why? There’s a certain norm that surrounds travelers. The normality of packing and unpacking. The normality of not knowing where you’re going next or where you’re sleeping the next day. The normality of things going wrong but understaffing that everything is alright. And the best part, the normality of meeting people. And when I get home none of those things will be normal any more and therefore won’t seem real. Well, the dream is over for now and I’m back to square one. I’m back where it all started. Phnom Penh. Except this time it’s much more quite due to the new year. It’s a little surreal to be retracing my paths. Because I’ve returned to a familiar place I feel like I know the city well and that it’s home. That’s exactly what I was talking about in my post ” Lacking familiarity. Life before school.” I’ll be here until tomorrow when I get on my ridiculously long flight path back to Vancouver. I’m thankful for all the experiences I’ve had and all the people I met. Make sure you travel. Make sure you live.

 

557470_10151065534317241_972840113_n

Leave a Reply

